Many agricultural lands are being converted into commercial centres. How does this affect the environment and the people’s life style? Discuss this situation and provide suggestions. Support your answer with specific reasons and examples.

There is no doubt that in this modern era farming is losing its importance under the influence of sophisticated commercialism. This change is leading to serious problems in many nations. While it is observed that, many farmlands are being replaced by shopping malls and city centres, this may have an influence on natural habitat and person’s life. In this essay, I will discuss two problems that arise due to this change and propose some ways to mitigate this issue. Firstly, the continuous decrease in farmland areas are causing bad influence on our habitat. This is because, deforestation leads to soil erosion, which in turn makes the healthy land unfavourable for agricultural purposes. Furthermore, this overcrowding and commercialization of cities and states are leading to imbalance in our ecosystem. For example, in my opinion, I am still healthy with a strong immune system, because I was lucky to breathe fresh air due to many untouched forest areas and eat fresh fruits-vegetables grown in the farmlands surrounding my city. The solution for this is that, the government authorities should imply strict rules and penalties against buying or selling agricultural lands for commercial purposed. The authorities can provide lands for such activities in centre of cities, thus leaving outskirts for farming purposes. Secondly, the lives of individual’s are getting affected by development of these modern public buildings. The reason for this is, the food crisis people are facing, which is due to decrease in farming areas. Moreover, these lands are responsible to maintain a balance in demand and supply of food and vegetables, which is declining at a fast pace. For instance, a study done by one of United Kingdom’s news channel reported that, people living in cities which are losing their agricultural grounds are facing major food shortage, thus taking help from neighbouring states. The solution is that, people should be aware for hiked prices of food items and chemical adulterations done by these commercial activities. The people should promote the idea of buying fresh from local farmer’s markets, which would help them monetarily and boost their confidence. However, the farming and commercial centres both hold an important place in a developing society and is beneficial to every human being. In conclusion, while commercial activities are causing environmental deterioration and food crisis for people the people and the government authorities must play a strict role in controlling this imbalance.