The old tradition of a family having a meal together is disappearing. Why do you think is this happening? How does it affect individuals and the community?

Nowadays, family reunions at mealtimes are on the decline. From my point of view, there are various reasons behind this issue damaging both people and society by isolating members of the public. Having said that, different factors contribute to this problem. Due to modern gadgets, people are surrounded by accessible diversions, smartphones and computers as examples; thus, the number one cause is media-saturated society. People, especially children, are more inclined to spend their time on their own and interact less with their family, particularly at dining time. For example, offsprings prefer to watch a cartoon while they are eating rather than to talk to their parents. Furtheremore, work timetables have been extended to five in the afternoons, meaning many parents have to eat their lunch at work. Even about dinner time, they might be exhausted and prefer to rest. To illustrate that, consider a mother who is also a nurse and came home after eight hours taking care of patients. She would not be energetic enough to prepare food. Therefore, family members would be deprived of eating together. Not only do this trend have irreplaceable consequences on individuals but also on the societies. In this regard, people gradually feel more lonely and isolated since they are more frequently communicate with people through the virtual world rather than in real life. As a result, they are highly likely to suffer from depression which in turn will affect the whole society. In other words, the more depressed people are, the less productive would be the community. Consider a situation in which numerous members of a country have no passion to concentrate on their job. It is clear that such country will not have any prosperity. In conclusion, fewer families eat their meals together these days. I think the most significant cause affecting this topic is technical developments which would have problematic influences on humans, both individually and collectively.