The number of older people is increasing in many parts of the world. What are the effects of this on society as a whole? What are the advantages or disadvantages of this trend?

In recent years, due to the obvious progress in the field of medicine, the average age in the developed countries has risen dramatically. Consequently, many people are expected to live more than 80 or maybe 90 years old. In this essay I will discuss the influence of this phenomenon on the society, mentioning the merits and demerits resulting from this trend. old people usually create a sense of coherence between the family members. To clarify, most adults tend to leave their homes after the age of 21 which leads to a fragile relationship between the siblings. Whereas, if the parents are still alive, their children will keep visiting them on a regular basis which will preserve the cohesion of the whole family. On the one hand, grandparents can take care of their grandchildren in the absence of their parents. One salient example that demonstrates this idea is when the parents have to travel for several days for work or when they have some meetings which young children cannot attend, especially in the countries where the idea of babysitters does not exist. Therefore, the only people that the parents could trust in these moments are their mothers because they love to spend much time with those children. On the flip side, If the elderly have good health conditions, they will occupy many job vacancies which will mitigate the youth' s opportunities in the work market. Due to their high levels of experience and the ability to work for more years, they can possess all the managerial positions. Hence, it will reduce the chance for a young employee to be promoted or even to find work. To recapitulate, not only is the senior citizens considered as the main key for maintaining a solid family, but they are also can aid their sons and daughters to raise their babies. Whilst, their ability to work for several years could deprive the youth of finding a suitable job.