The number of older people is increasing. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is undeniable that with the advance of medical care and technology, people now are living longer and the life expectancy is steadily increasing. I strongly believe that this trend has both positive and negative effects on society. On the one hand, the growing number of aged citizens also has some negative consequences. Firstly, a dramatic increase in the proportion of old people may place an increasing burden on health systems. In fact, as people age, they suffer from various health problems such as high blood pressure, diabetes, stroke or heart attack. These chronic illnesses are placing an increasing pressure on health systems. Secondly, this phenomenon would pose a heavy financial burden on government. The pension funds are collected from taxes from other citizens in order to ensure the old decent lives. For example, population aging in Japan leads to a decreased proportion of people of workforce age. Thus, there will be more people claiming benefits such as state pensions and less people working and paying income taxes, causing an increase in dependency ratio. On the other hand, the increasing number of older people in a country has great influences on society. Certainly, wisdom really does come with age, senior citizens have an extensive experience of various social systems which is the treasure for young generation to counsel. Moreover, due to their retirement, senior generations could spend more time taking part in community services and volunteer work than the young. For instance, as a volunteer Retired and Senior Volunteer Program, participants can share the knowledge they have gained during their lifetime in order to tutor and mentor youth, renovate homes, and assist natural disaster victims. In conclusion, despite of all advantages, the aging trend can bring some