At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

If not controlled and planned in a proper manner, population hike in itself can become hazardous. It has its own advantages as well as disadvantages, however the same depends on the way the manpower is being used and the correct ratio between old and similar aged people. I personally think if a country or a nation is over populated whether it be with the young crowd or relatively older population it is harmful in numerous ways. We shall explore the reasons and look at different aspects in this essay. Today, for example, we can take India and China as examples. While there is nothing wrong with these two nations, we should throw some light on the rate at which the population is increasing in both these countries in an alarming rate. Being a citizen of India and having been brought up in one of the most populated city in the world i. e. Mumbai, I feel that population should be controlled soon else, we would be leaving an unsafe place for our future generations where it would be difficult for them to survive and they would most likely struggle for all the natural resources which we were fortunate enough to enjoy from mother nature. If the young population is more in the nation undoubtedly the working manpower ratio would be increased and in turn it would lead to the development of the nation. More and more people would be willing to work inside and outside of the nation bringing growth and prosperity in the nation’s economy. However, by not thinking in a materialistic way and taking our future generations into consideration, there are consequences that they might have to face. Such as extinguishing of most of the natural resources. For example, forests are being destroyed in-order to accommodate the increasing population. Lack of money to fulfil even their basic needs as a human being etc. Coming back to the older population, there also the role of the government is quite crucial as the needs of older people are similar to the needs of children. There should be appropriate facilities that should be done by the government to look after the old people and provide them with proper healthcare and nutrition. All this will be possible only if the population is under control and manageable. If the population is increasing at this rate it will affect the quality of life which in turn would cause more problems. Hence, In my opinion, the population in general should not increase at such a rate where, it will cause a threat to the very existence of life and would affect the well- being of all the humans.