Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human's life.

Certain people believe that we have nothing to gain from the life of earlier generations because we are scientifically more advanced than them. In contrast, others think there are lots of morals to learn from stories of the past and I agree with them. Our recent better understanding of the universe has made some persons to disregard history. They believe that since we have been able to disprove many olden beliefs, the past is not worth learning from. For instance, it is now known that it is mosquito bite that causes malaria and not bad air as was previously accepted. Thus, for them, our scientific breakthroughs are evidences that we are more sound and rational than older generations. They claim it will be a waste of time to refer back to history and that it will even cause intellectual setback to our advancing society. However, another set of individuals think that there is more to life than science. I agree with them. Their opinion is that good conduct is the backbone of every community and therefore should be given preference. Thus, they use life stories of their forefathers to instill discipline in their members. For example, in most villages, children are gathered at night and told stories of their ancestors depicting the reward of hardwork. The aim is to urge these kids to work hard. A study, conducted by Ondo state university final year psychology students in 2013 revealed that these children had more social acceptable character than their counterparts. In conclusion, though we are scientifically better than our fathers, I still support the idea that we hat lots of good life values to learn from their life experiences.