Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society.

Tertiary education is one of the most colossal achievement one can have. Some school of thoughts think the purpose of this system is assist baccalaureates in getting a job, while other believe there are much broader advantages for one and the public in general. This essay will look at this arguments in details. To begin with, those who assume that university education is solely for easy employability, do so because most employers of labor are looking for individuals who are copacetic educationally. For example, most parents want their children to become medical doctors because this profession easily gets hired. Therefore, job security is the main reason they envisage one should go to the university. In addition, people with secondary school education only, don’t get paid as much as those with college degrees. However, I am convinced that higher education is for the development of an individual’s mental sagacity and to enable him find solutions to the problems In the world. This is because the tutelage obtained in tertiary institutions helps one learn principles and laws that will help a person make inform decisions in his life and also help him embark on research that will provide answers to the needs of man. For instance, a research done by Harvard university discovered that the greatest contributors to the advancement of the communities in terms of science and technology were graduates. Consequently, the society we live in today will not be possible without the knowledge and experience this individuals gained from the universities. In conclusion, this essay has looked at two controversial opinions about the aim of university education. In my opinion, it is a harbinger for individual and societal development rather than to secure a good job.