The number of elderly people in the world is increasing. What do you think are the positive and negative effects of this trend?

In this day and age, the quantity of the world’s ageing population is constantly growing. This trend would create certain benefits, but there will also be some drawbacks. On the one hand, it is clear that the rising of elderly people would create several advantages. One evident strength is that the ageing society makes beneficial contributions to the community through their services. In other words, they still continue working on their own ability, easily look after the kids and do the tasks of daily living while their parents need to concentrate on their occupations. Furthermore, being the more experienced people for ages, career, the elderly impart knowledge to the youngsters. For example, when the youth is in deep water and do not know how to tackle the issue, they desire to be advised from someone much seasoned practice than they. On the other hand, there are some obvious disadvantages that would arise. First, the growing proportion of elders in the population opens questions how to finance them greatly after retirement. This means that more pension requirements and brings about the cost to the Government. Second, older people more prone to illnesses and ailments. In particular, the rising number of sick people, will put pressure on healthcare facilities, which might not be able to address the demand, such as not enough housing or nursery homes and so forth. Last but not least, there are more familial and social conflicts due to the generation gap and resentment of the young against the old. To sum up, there are plus points to age community regarding their positive contributions and experiences of the community. However, the downside would emerge consequently in terms of a burden on infrastructure, welfare system and more familial displeasure. In order that, the society needs to pay attention more to this issue.