More and more people want to buy famous brands with clothes, cars and other items. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

There has been a growing trend toward purchasing garments, vehicles, and accessories from expensive brand names for a variety of reasons these days. Although this issue might not be of significant concerns of society, spending money for these external materials is fraught with pitfalls and its reasons should be identified in order to find solutions. There are several causes why people nowadays are driven to buy luxury products. First, since high-priced products are usually of good quality, many people, especially successful millennials, tend to spend a considerable amount of money for these goods. For example, the likelihood of a leather hand-made bag to last for a long time is significantly higher than an inexpensive one coming from a flea market as the materials that are used would usually be ensured in both quality and durability. Second, having expensive brand names is considered a must to express individuality and status. This means that society could easily associate owning an expensive item with a successful figure since only the wealthy ones could afford these items, which is highly beneficial in expanding relationship networks. In fact, it cannot be denied that overbuying famous brand products, such as clothes, towels and tooth paste may have some drawbacks. These daily necessities are easy to worn or use up and the quality of cheap necessities is similar to that expensive goods. Even buying famous brand products all the time may cause children’s bad style of life. Moreover, real and excellent famous brands are limited, while with more and more people choose to buy famous brands goods, sellers make use of high technology producing some fake famous brand products to consumers. This trend is hazardous for customers and societies. To sum up, I do strongly believe that famous brand products selling well demonstrate the progress of society. However, every consumer should according to their practical situations to choose the goods, following the trend blindly is inadvisable.