The number of cars has increased significantly in major cities. What problems does this cause and what are some solutions to these problems?

It has been observed that there is a sudden rise in the number of private motor vehicles in metro cities. Although, more cars in the town would lead to severe congestion, however, government can combat this by motivating people to opt for public transport. To begin with, a rapid increase in automobiles in the major cities would certainly lead to traffic jams. This is because more number of vehicles would use the existing roads and motorways to commute for numerous reasons such as work and shopping. Since roads and highways could only handle a certain number of vehicles, a steep surge in numbers would be beyond their capacity which results in traffic blockage. For example, as per the study conducted by Times, there is a 20% upsurge in the number of people who opted for private vehicles for regular travel in 2018 over last year leads to traffic in peak hours. On the other hand, National authorities can eradicate this concern by encouraging people to pick up public transport. This means the Government can offer discounted rates to entice people to share the benefits of public transport to travelers. Since more people will be encouraged to opt for public transport over driving a motor car would lead to curb the congestion problem. For example, The Government of Delhi had run a program that offered subsidized price for daily commuters in the year 2016. To conclude, although a surge in many cars would lead to traffic problems because more vehicles would use the existing infrastructure. To tackle this issue, National bodies can offer subsidized fares to motivate people to join public transport.