The number of cars has increased significantly in major cities. What problems does this cause and what are some solutions to these problems?

Most of the big cities of the world are facing an issue of an increase in the number of cars. It has created many problems like traffic jam, limited parking places and overcrowded cities. These can be addressed by developing alternate methods of travelling and building new roads. The rising trend of buying cars has resulted in increased quantity of vehicles on the roads. Firstly, there is more blockage and chocking of tracks. Secondly, the time required to move from one place to another is enhanced. Furthermore, the parking slots are jam packed, thus reducing the space and making the towns densely crowded. To sum up, the more the cars on the streets, the more problems we will face. For example, the same issue has been encountered by the British government in the London city and they have imposed a new tax for entrance during the peak hours. These problems can be solved by providing alternate means of transport and laying down more paths. On the one hand, countries should develop the train, subways and metro systems, so that people can be encouraged to use these mass transit options. On the other hand, plans should be made to widen the existing ways and opening up of new pathways. All this will, ultimately, decrease the people travelling on their own motorcars. Thus reducing the traffic problems. For instance, all the major cities of the world have developed a tram system to shuttle the population. To conclude, the combined effort of the whole nation is required to solve the issues of traffic. Awareness among the masses and enforcing laws will help in this regard.