Some people prefer to travel around town by car, while others prefer public transit such as bus, train or subway.

In recent years, the number of cars that ply on the roads have been increased to a greater extent. That shows the preference exhibited by the people to use their own transport. On the contrary, there is also another section of people who prefer using only the public transport. What is the best choice of transport between these two options? I am going to describe about the benefits and limits on both the sides. The main factors are ever-increasing population density and the vehicle circulation on the roads. Years before, only the elite working classes have utilised their own vehicles, whereas the middle and lower income families were always depended on using public transports like bus or metro or train. However, as globalisation began to boom, the incomes of the middle and lower level families started to improve, that enabled them to own their own transport resulting in high level of vehicular movements on the roads, which also had a cascading effect on triggering pollution. I would like to talk about Tokyo city, which has been an inspiration to the rest of the world when it comes to handling transport woes. All the classes irrespective of their financial control, they have a greater sense of using public transport, thereby preserving their environment, unlike travelling in their own cars which would trigger socioeconomic imbalances. On the other hand, there are countries like the US and Brazil, where the population density is at the minimum level, people use their own cars for their travel instead of using any public transport. One good point to be observed here is that, the roadways in these countries are better equipped rather left in a sorry state. That also adds a valid reason why people use their own cars to travel. Therefore, in my opinion, people should realise the benefits of using public transport as it enormously reduces carbon emission, resulting in better preservation of earth’s rising temperature and control on global warming.