The news media plays an important role in modern societies. Why are they important? Do they have a positive or negative influence?

Nowadays, it’s true that the recently appeared media are playing vital roles into people’s daily life. There are several reasons why this is the case and I think the disadvantages of them basically outweigh the merits. There are various reasons why the newly born media are becoming predominant in our modern world. One of the major factors is that the sustainable development of technology and telecommunication, reducing sharply the cost of the spread of information. At the same time, the thriving arising of internet have been reshaping the measurements how people get access to the news, domestically and internationally. Instagram, for example, successfully attracting people by encouraging people to express their opinions and interact with others through posting personalized photos, upgrades the communication in a more entertaining way. Furthermore, an increasing number of academic achievements are post on internet, which could benefit more and more people from higher level of education with cheaper price and more convenience. However, we should hold our grounds firmly while adapting ourselves to those fierce changes, as some of them probably not affect us in positive ways. Firstly, social media making all the information easily accessible, however, a wide range of voices and concepts could give us wrong impression about something important. There for, without our own independent judgement, there’s no doubt that people can be easily manipulated by the medias. Facebook is the largest social media company, which has been involved into the scandal of deliberately affecting people’s preference in last American President selection campaign. Lastly, if we get used to using phones while reading, we would not concentrate completely on the book due to the disturbing news shown on the phone screen. In conclusion, although new means of media are extremely important for every member of society, we need to be alert about the disadvantages imposed on changing our lives.