The news media plays an important role in modern societies. Why are they important? Do they have a positive or negative influence?

Thanks to the globalization and the development of transport, travel is getting more popular. It is claimed that travel improved the appreciation of other cultures. In my opinion, enthusiastic travellers can understand the values of cultures better than those at home for some certain reasons. Travel indeed helps people appreciate other traditions and customs. This is because when tourists stay with the locals, experience their lifestyles or participate in traditional festivals by themselves, they can make friends, fall in line with the locals and show greater respect to these customs. Moreover, when travelling visitors have opportunities to be directly told the history, origin and other interesting stories of traditions by inhabitants who have lived there for many years. Last but not least, travellers can try special food which every local area has different recipes. This is a key factor in appreciating distinct cultures. However, some people believe that they can appreciate cultures through computer or phone screens. This is not completely true because they don’t have a chance of experiencing other customs directly and don’t understand the true values of local customs. And clearly, travellers have more practical experiences than those who just stay at home and watch or read information on the Internet. Besides addition, not every culture is found on the Internet. In fact, some tribes are living separate from the rest of the world like some tribes in Amazon which people don’t even know their existence. In conclusion, travel helps people to appreciate other cultures. And personally, travel is better than just staying at home to understand the values of other cultures.