The money spent by governments on space programmes would be better spent onvital public services such as schools and hospitals.

In recent years, governments in many countries have been spending huge funds on space exploration projects. This essay will discuss why I consider this attitude as a waste of money and that this money should be allocated to serve the community. To begin with, these are various reasons why I believe that such space projects should be abandoned. Firstly, these programmes are extremely expensive in terms of the qualified training required for the staff and the special equipment used to complete the missions. Consequently, while this put a substantial pressure on the government' s budget, these funds could be assigned to develop the society in different ways and within various fields. Secondly, space travels are considered a real danger since many of them fail to return to the earth; as a result, they cost many astronauts their lives. Finally, not only are space programmes consume an enormous part of the country' s economy, but also most of them do not present benefits to the people' s lives. On the other hand, I claim that it is much more economically efficient for governments to allocate their finances to other sectors that worth improvement because they tend to create direct positive impact on the community and its members. This is because whereas training astronauts can cost a fortune, it is much cheaper to prepare qualified engineers, doctors, police and other skilled workers who serve the country. Furthermore, unlike the hazards of space programmes, the risks of pubic service work can be easily limited through safety procedures. Besides the lower cost and limited risks, these careers present vital advantages to the public as reducing poverty rates, improving the country' s infrastructure, reforming education and curing diseases. Therefore, People will take the advantage of these services on the short term and on the long term. In conclusion, despite the fact that more funds are being spent on space discoveries in the recent times, I do claim that these expenditures should be cut down and that governments would assign more budget for the public service instead.