The internet has greatly increased our access to information.

Internet has become the necessity of our life. It has revolutionized the communication of modern era and has change the way to access information across the world. I agree with this statement to an extent and in this essay, I will highlight merits and demerits of it. On one hand, Internet has provided ease in one’s life from browsing an article to buying a house. Nowadays, one can simply search for an article and get the information in seconds. One does not need to wait or look through books to get the required data. With the advent of internet, access to information has become very easy without spending any effort to look for it. People can browse the required information in mere seconds. For instance, if a student wants to read an article for his homework, he can browse over the internet and can get the required information quickly. On the other hand, there are some downsides as well of this great invention. Firstly, it is really difficult to control the access to information and with such openness it can cause a negative impact on young generation especially kids. For example, kids could browse adult sites if parental controls are not in place. Secondly, it is not guaranteed to have authentic information over the internet. In order to browse anything, person needs to verify the source as there is quite a lot of fake information floating around. Finally, Internet has been used to propagate any agenda and to control minds of the people. Even political parties are using it as a tool to spread information which could easily provide them edge over their opponents. One example of such propaganda can be seen in the last presidential election of the US, where Trump was accused to influence people via social networks. In conclusion, Internet is considered as the greatest invention of this millennium but it has its own pitfalls from access control to spreading fake news. Therefore, I firmly believe that it can be an excellent tool if used in a proper way.