The internet has greatly increased our access to information.

Nowadays, world wide web has become our only source for information. Some people argue that easy access to information badly affect our social life. While others tend to believe that the internet is the single biggest driving force pushing improvements to our life. In this essay, I am going to discuss both sides of the argument and explain my support for the former view. One of the biggest argument against this easy availability of information is its' addictive nature. This is an undeniable fact that people nowadays spend huge amount of time on the internet for mostly social networking and entertainment. For example, the facebook has more than 1 billion users with an average time engagement of 2 hours per day. This results in, serious loss of productivity, because the same time could have been spent on some better activity like exercising, studying or working. However, this problem can be tackled with some initiatives by internet companies like allowing limited time usage for every user. On the other hand, the most significant impact of the internet is knowledge sharing and emergence of collaborative ideas from researchers across the globe. For example, joint research between two scientist of two different countries is not only possible, but also very common nowadays. Furthermore, internet allows people to share important moments with their loved ones who may be on the other side of globe. As a result, people feel a lot more connected with their family. In conclusion, while there are few drawbacks with ease of information like unfruitful usage of time, these must be weighted against the benefits like collaborative research and easy communication. Personally, I feel these benefits outweigh the drawbacks.