Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

It is often thought that governments and large companies are the only ones that can make improvements in the environment and that individuals cannot help with it. In my opinion, I disagree that people are helpless with regards to environmental restoration as they can make big changes especially through communication and by having a green thumb. A good reason would be that a lot of knowledgeable individuals can enhance the surroundings by raising awareness to other people. This can be done by simply by conversing about the importance of a clean surrounding to family, friend or co-workers. For instance, conveying information to the children in the family about the harmful effect of plastics in the atmosphere could make a difference as these children, once aware, could spread the news to their schoolmates. This has been very effective over the years as the volume of plastics went lower, lessening the garbage all over the world. Another point is that individuals can help improve the environment by planting more trees and plants, even just in their backyards. This action could assist in creating more oxygen, assisting the atmosphere and air to have better quality. Many communities now in Canada, for example, are applying this step and are showing huge improvements in the cleanliness of their surroundings. If this continues, there will be lesser air pollution and greener scenery which can proliferate in the entire society that people will surely enjoy. In conclusion, individuals can make huge improvements in the environment by doing simple strategies that could lead to lesser amount of wastes, cleaner air and surrounding.