The increased use of text messaging using mobile phones is largely to blame for the falling standards in written English, particularly among young people, many of whom are unable to construct grammatically correct sentences.

In today's developing world, the number of people using text messaging on their mobile phones is significantly increasing. It is inarguable that text messaging has altered the world of communication. However, some are of the opinion that the use of text messaging has a bad impact on the standards of written English. Apropos of the statement, I am in consummate discord with it. It is irrefutable that with the invention of text messaging, human's lives have also been made easier. Text messaging was invented with the intention of facilitating communication, and hence the prevalent use of acronyms to make text messages shorter and more convenient. Also, long formal text messages do not go in accordance with the function of text messaging, which is to make communication easier. Furthermore, it is unreasonable to make an assumption that someone is unable to construct correct grammatical sentences just because the said person has a tendency to use acronyms. People need to understand that text messaging is not a means of learning English and the inability to form a correct sentence is more of a problem with an English teacher than with text messaging. It is not unusual that someone with a nice grammatical accuracy writes conventional SMS and it does not decrease the level of proficiency s/he already has. On the other hand, if someone makes a habit of writing such messages at the beginning level, especially non-native English speakers, might grow up the tendency of making mistakes in the formal writing. To sum up, the falling standards in written English does not have the slightest correlation with text messaging. Text messaging is invented to make communication easier and it is not a means of learning English, and therefore it is hardly to blame for people's incapability to construct correct sentences.