Some people consider public libraries to be unnecessary due to the availability of the Internet. Others, however, believe that libraries play an important role in society.

Nowadays, not many people frequent public libraries anymore as every bit of information required by human beings is available on the Internet. While some deem that public libraries have become obsolete, others are of the opinion that it still plays a pivotal role in society. In this essay, I will confer both views and provide an opinion. Public libraries are open to everyone, be it to some civilian who has a sudden urge to put his foot up and get immersed in a book, or to students who are struggling with the thesis. They also provide books of many varieties, ranging from historical books to modern fictions. While I am in consummate accord with public opinion that public libraries are more troublesome in terms of information finding as it is irrefutable that it is still the most reliable way as there's a legit source for every bit of information that is come across. On the flip side, when you have the connection to the Internet, everything is at your fingertips. People can obtain every bit of information without stepping a foot outside their house. Everything on the Internet is if not gratis, affordable and easily acquired. Whilst it is beyond doubt that the Internet has facilitated learning and information finding, it also does not come without a number of drawbacks. One of which is apparent, it is that not every bit of information from the Internet is accurate. This is evident as everyone is free to put up information. In a nutshell, it is inarguable that the Internet as a means of getting information and learning has made human's life a lot easier. However, the internet is not reliable and while public libraries may serve as a more convoluted way of fetching information, it is still the most trustworthy and therefore, the existence of public libraries are essential in society.