Some people consider public libraries to be unnecessary due to the availability of the Internet. Others, however, believe that libraries play an important role in society.

People have argued about the existence of public libraries. Due to the rapid development of information technology, a group of people believe that the existence of libraries is not necessary, while others disagree. The following essay will explain in details regarding both contradictory opinions, but I do believe that libraries play an important part in our communities. On the one hand, some people think the existence of traditional libraries is not effective and efficient anymore these days. With the development of computer and internet technology, people could find tens of thousands of references through the internet. Besides that, there is a new technology which is commonly called tablet PC, and people could read the electronic book through the device. Therefore, people do not have to bother themselves going to the library to find some articles. On the other hand, for a number of reasons some people believe that traditional libraries should continue to exist. Firstly, it is believed that there are a lot of old books and references that contain historical values and they should be properly maintained in libraries. Secondly, several people prefer to read articles or books in the library, due to the library could offer a quiet and comfortable place for studying. They believe that they could focus and concentrate more in the place. Lastly, not all books are provided in softcopy or electronic versions, therefore people might still search books in libraries. In conclusion, it is a fact that the existence libraries have been argued by a lot of people nowadays. Although with the assistance of internet and computer technology people do not have to go to libraries anymore, I personally think that traditional libraries still play an important part in our societies.