The use of cell phones (mobile phones) has increased rapidly in the twenty-first century. Additionally, cell phones can now be used for many purposes besides making phone calls. What are the advantages and disadvantages of cell phones?

Nowadays, mobile phone functionalities and users have risen significantly over the last few decades. This essay will discuss both the merits and demerits of cell phones in details. Currently, cell phones contain online applications that allow the society to access information and connect to other people easily. Through the use of these tools, many people are now able to look for a plethora of answers and data by inserting text in the browsers. Additionally, regardless of time and location differences, communication can easily be connected via mobile devices. For instance, online application such as FaceTime and Skype, allow face to face interaction that can be accessed around the world. Therefore, electronic phones have indeed provide better functionalities by accessing and connecting the society easily. On the other hand, due to the advance technology of these devices, it has increased the number of addictions and web criminal activities. Firstly, these electronic tools produce a variety of contents that can cause people to browse for hours, which often can results in mental health issues. Additionally, some of the online functionalities can easily be hacked by hackers, which can cause to information loss. According to 'The Economist' magazine, the number of identity thief has increased to 75% annually, when compared to a decade ago. Therefore, as advance phone technology rises, addiction and illegal activities among the society also increase. In conclusion, the purpose of mobile phones has increased dramatically in this modern century. Despite the disadvantages such as criminal activities and addiction, the advantages have surpassed the drawbacks, since it brings the humanity closer and provide accessible information.