The importance of traveling for education is greatly overrated. In modern days, you can still be a brilliant scholar without going outdoors.

People’s perception about travelling has always been positive and it is considered as major source of learning even in modern times. But, some people believe that knowledge can be acquired by sitting at home and one can be a good scholar. I believe that visiting to different places not only add the knowledge but enhance the experience in life. It is commonly said that bookish knowledge is not enough to lead the successful life and people must get the real-time experience while travelling. There are different benefits of traveling. First of all, going to different places makes the person open and courageous and people do not feel diffident while encountering new situation. For instance, my uncle is fond of foreign journey and feels cheered to travel even at short notice and unknown places. Another advantage is cultural exposure. When people go to foreign countries, they see the different culture and get to know the pros and cons of the culture in contrast to bookish knowledge where history of culture and some pictures are mentioned. Exposure of different culture makes the student think that respect for culture is important and others cultures are equally important as oneself. Finally, some countries are far advanced that others and knowing about technology is not sufficient to implement in successful manner. This is the one of the reasons that students especially from technology background are asked to go under practical training at different countries. These enable them to see the technology working in different contexts which they can further implement in their own country. For example, famous tycoon Sunil Agarwal of Airtel saw the mobile revolution on education trip to U. S. A and later started his own telecom company. To sum-up, though books and modern technologies help the person to get information about various subjects, it can be ever a substitute of travel as latter provides opportunities to see the world by one’s own eyes.