The importance of biodiversity is being more widely recognized as increasing numbers of species come under threat. What can be done to maintain biodiversity?

Presently, the number of species under extinction threat is increasing and that is showing us the importance of biodiversity. So, to maintain biodiversity, one must understand the role of each and every species on Earth. To point that in every ecosystem there are 'keystone' species that sustains a whole bunch of other animals and plants. Destroying one such types unleashes a trail of destruction that is irreversible. There should be an awareness that the oxygen that we breathe is an 'ecosystem' service provided free by this living organisms on earth. The real power of human beings is that we can destroy everything easily for self-interest and greed. As a result, extinction is a great threat to many species. Fortunately, it is not late to maintain biodiversity. To begin with, reducing the water pollution can create a great relieve on water species. According to the biologists, four fifths of all existing creatures are living in the water. Water Pollution is reducing the kinds and the population of that creature day by day. Chemical and biological wastages are kept polluting fresh aqua reserves and seas. For example, every year a million gallon of polluted water was discharged into the rivers and sea in Istanbul. Because, there were no sewer treatment facilities in Istanbul, the sea became polluted and there was nearly no underwater life. After building sewer treatment facilities, water reserves and sea have become clearer. As well as, maintaining biodiversity is forestation. Most of the land creatures are need forests for a living. Forestation can create new living areas for many animals, especially for cubs. Specifically, it is the city of Abu Dhabi. İn the seventies, Emirate of Abu Dhabi decided to create a forest in the desert. After a well-organised forestation plan, they managed to create a forest and it is an attraction point for people who want to see the forest habitat. There are many kinds of creatures from mammals to endemic insects. To sum up, I would like to say that everything on this planet is connected and the real losers of biological diversity destruction are human beings whilst not anything else. However, doing small but effective changes we can save plenty of species.