The idea of having a single career is becoming an old fashioned one. The new fashion will be to have several careers or ways of earning money and further education will be something that continues throughout life.

In the past, it was common for people to have a single career to make a living. This is understandable because people in the past had limited chance to pursue tertiary education and less opportunity to use the technology to work remotely. The barriers have been removed and many people already have started having a diverse career with more than one jobs at a time. In the past, the cost of continuing education in the university or college was very expensive and people found ti unaffordable in most of the cases. This is why after graduating from secondary school, people started working. With the limited knowledge they had, they seemed to be satisfied with a single career as long as they could survive by the salary earned. Nevertheless, many people think that it is an old-fashioned way of making a living. Their assumption is that the new trend for people living in a modern society will be to have several careers or ways of earning money. In addition, they think that further education will be something that continued throughout the life. I agree that many people are having several careers to make a living in this modern world. This is perhaps because people presume that a salary from a typical job is not enough to cover the daily expenditure. This happens because of one word, inflation. When the prices of goods and services inflate gradually every year, the salary that people earn does not inflate with the consistent of the pace of inflation. Therefore, people will have to work for other jobs to survive. Some of them even do online business such as selling goods online. Indeed, I have to confess that the old fashion way of working which is to have a single career is gradually fading away in today’s society. Apart from that, I could not agree more that further education is something that will continue throughout the life. In this competitive world, a college degree can no longer provide job security to people. According to a news reported by CNN, KPMG which is a very big multinational company with a lot of branches around the world told the reporter that the employers no longer look for candidates with just a degree certificate in hand. What the employers want are the practical experience and skills that the candidates possessed. Apart from that, in order to avoid the fate of retrenchment, people will probably enrol in part-time courses to enhance the value of their resume while working as full-time employees. In conclusion, many people will find it hard to survive today with just a single career. Thus, people tend to work for several careers to earn as much money as they can and education becomes part of their career enhancement.