Schools and libraries should ban computer games from their premises to stop students from wasting time.

Computer games have their advantages in terms of enhancing imagination, hand-eye coordination, cognitive development and increasing computer operational skills. However, this is a double-edged sword which can negatively affect students if they spend too much time on computer games and get addicted to those games. I completely agree that computer games should be prohibited in classrooms, schools and libraries. There are various reasons for my opinion and the following paragraphs will discuss my reasons in details. First of all, academic boundaries and libraries are primarily for gathering knowledge, learning new lessons and focusing on study. If students start playing computer games in classrooms and in libraries, they will definitely be distracted from their main objective in schools and thus they will perform very poorly in exams. This will have a very negative consequence both on the school authorities and students. Hence banning computer games from school and library premises is a good idea. Second, computer games are very addictive, especially the modern strategic games that require hours after hours for a gamer to play in front of computers. Those games are obviously more alluring for young students and if they are allowed they will play those digital games all day long. This is a huge waste of valuable time which could have been used for learning new things and for gathering knowledge. Again, every activity has its proper places and times. Banning computer games from school premises only make sure that students spend their time prudently. If someone finds computer games informative and helpful, he can play it home or in other places than the schools and libraries. Finally, too much computer games can decrease a student’s eye-sight, negatively affect his psychology and can increase violent activities which would be very detrimental to the future of a student. The bloodshed and violence used in many computer games would definitely ruin the peaceful environment a school premise needs to ensure quality education. Considering all the above points, I strongly agree that completely banning computer games in school and library premises is a very good idea for the betterment of all.