The private motor vehicle has greatly improved individual freedom of movement. Moreover, the automobile has become a status symbol. Yet the use of private motor vehicles has contributed to some of today’s most serious problems. How can the use of private motor vehicle be reduced?

The wheel is considered by many as the greatest invention in human history and the motor vehicles that we use these days is the main reason we live in the industrial age. The ease of transportation and freedom to move goods from one place to another is the main driving factor for a modern era. Yet, the use of private vehicles endangers the environment to a great extent and leads to many serious problems including sound and air pollution, accident, congestions on roads and many more. There are many steps we can take to reduce the number of private motor vehicles running on roads to ensure the safety of the environment and to make the world livable for the upcoming generations. First of all, improving the public transportation system would encourage people to use those instead of relying on their private cars. People mostly buy private cars to have a comfortable commuting experience though maintaining private cars is far more expensive. If the public transportation facility is improved, many people would reduce using their private vehicles. Secondly, increasing the price of fuel could be another great measure to discourage people from using and buying private cars. It is natural that enhanced fuel price would increase the cost of maintaining private cars and thus more people would think twice before purchasing a new car. In addition, more taxes should be imposed on private car ownership. Thirdly, traffic rules should be more strictly imposed and practised so that people can’t use private cars if there are less than 3 passengers in the car. This rule is applied in many cities and thus they have successfully reduced the number of private cars running on their roads. For goods transportation, water and railway should be used. Usually, water and rail transports can carry a great more amount of products than the road vehicles and that should be strictly followed. Then, individual awareness is required to reduce the use of private cars. People tend to use their cars even for a small distance. Walking and cycling should be promoted so that people rely on their cars less and thus pollute the environment less. Finally, the ownership of cars should be restricted based on the number of family members, the number of vehicles a single family can purchase and based on their gross incomes. In conclusion, the private motor vehicles have great advantages but they severely pollute the environment. Hence their usages should be reduced by promoting public transportations, making laws strict, increasing fuel price and by creating awareness among mass people.