It is frequently remarked that success is easy to attain but difficult to maintain.

Every human being desires success from his own perspective. Though success in life is a relative term and could vary greatly from person to person, being able to fulfil dreams and ambitions and being able to be recognised among people is a common definition we can attach to the term success. While a sports personality desire success by doing some ground breaking records in his sports, a new actor can dream to perform in a big budget hit movie as his success. When this actor gains some fame, he might desire to win the Oscar prize and can make it his milestone for success. It is often said that success might be easy to gain but more difficult to maintain and I completely agree with this notion. First of all, hard work, determination and talent are required to gain success. If we consider a new employee who might expect to reach the higher ladder of his career and works really hard, he might one day fulfil his dream. But the real challenge is in performing the duties as a senior executive and that’s even harder than reaching this position. A singer, movie actor and sportsman can gain fame and success by showing superb performance once and everybody will then look at them and expect them to perform well continuously. This is not that easy and requires even more hard work to maintain the performance. If we look at the movie industries, it is not uncommon that many new actors and actresses show great potential in their early state of career but can’t reach the position they ought to have due to their lack of hard work and determination. Luck often plays its tricks but if we omit the part played by the luck, it remains hard works, determination and excellent performance which become even harder when someone gains popularity. Second, we all have our short term and long term ambitions and being able to accomplish a goal does not stop us from dreaming even bigger dreams. Being successful for someone does not mean that he can then stop and enjoy his success. It opens new possibilities and responsibilities and to reach the next level, we need to work harder at that stage. Maintaining success means performing excellence all the time which in reality is a very hard to maintain. Third, the definition of success is ever changing even for a single person. A 10 years old child defines his success by achieving excellent grades and it changes as soon as he enters in his career. The successful students then have to work harder to prove his supremacy among other talented workers. Thus when he attains success and reach in a higher position of a company, he then needs to take even bigger responsibilities. A single blunder can then ruin his career and shatter his dream of further success. This keeps on changing and thus success in different states in life varies. Continuous efforts and works are required to maintain success for a person in his life. In conclusion, it is indeed true that maintaining success is far more difficult than achieving it as it requires even more hard works and continuous excellent performance in every field.