The idea of having a single career is becoming an old fashioned one. The new fashion will be to have several careers or ways of earning money and further education will be something that continues throughout life.

Job hopping is relatively new trend. The concept of studying until a certain age and pursuing a single career afterwards is now passe. In my opinion, growing ambition and availability of new and exciting opportunities are the factors that encourage this trend. To begin with, people want to achieve more and more. They are not content with what they have and ambition encourages many people to change jobs frequently. For most people pursuing more than one career is the only way to achieve their ambition in life. For example, nowadays it is uncommon for doctors to work as lecturers at various institutes in their spare time. Everybody is exploring all possible ways of finding an extra source of income and to cater to the needs of these zealous job hoppers both online and offline skill development courses are available. Moreover, competition also encourages many adults to seek excellence in more than one area. Competition has become intense and people have to constantly update themselves with the latest materials and methods. Furthermore, Job security is no longer available in many sectors. People may lose their job anytime and to protect themselves against such catastrophic scenarios, they are working two or three jobs. No one wants to take chances with their financial security and stability. Last but not the least, we belong to an era of consumerism. The availability of more opportunities also motivates many enthusiasts to adopt multiple careers. For instance, in earlier times, there were very few jobs which were round-the clock jobs. But today, globalisation has brought in a multitude of options of working day and night. The line between day and night has become dim and people have become workaholics. To conclude, ambition and the lack of job security are the factors that drive people to pursue multiple careers. The availability of new opportunities just made this easier for them.