Most people prefer ready to eat food rather than homemade food now. Do you think it has more advantages or more disadvantages.

Now-a-days, because of hectic work schedules and a fast paced urban life, more and more people find it convenient to buy a pre-cooked meal or ready to eat items available at a grocery store than follow an elaborate traditional cooking. Unfortunately, the trend has many disadvantages which far outweigh the advantages which the essay aims to highlight. Precooked meals are laden with unhealthy preservatives and saturated fats, which have a long term negative effects if eaten for a prolonged period of time. It is no surprise that many youngsters are falling prey to lifestyle related diseases like obesity and other heart related ailments. Recently, a very well known noodles' manufacturer in India had to shut down its operations due to the fact that there was an objectionable lead content in its produce. Another problem the trend of eating the ready to eat meals poses is that the local produce of fruits and vegetables of the country is often wasted which leads to an economic loss of the nation. It is a well documented fact that farmers of India are committing suicides on a very large scale as they are unable to fetch a good return for their products. The above fact makes the economy of the nation suffer, especially for an agricultural country like India. The only advantage of consuming precooked meals is that it saves time in comparison to the traditional cooking methods. To conclude, from the above arguments it is evident that ready to eat food has many disadvantages like deteriorating the health of consumers and spoiling the local produce of farmers, whereas the only advantage is that it saves time.