The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that there has been a surge in the eCommerce especially, online shopping. Conventional and unconventional retailers are in constant battle to claim their share over customer’s wallet. However, I am unconvinced that this trend will lead to the closure of local retail outlets. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss how online and offline retailers will coexist in the near future. Firstly, the main reason that people prefer buying goods and services online is convenience. They can order anything they desire, whether its electronics or grocery and transfer money electronically. However, this is not the ideal scenario for everyone, as many prefer checking the product quality before purchasing it which is why individuals would still prefer visiting stores. A good illustration of this would be that many families insist on buying their grocery from local farmers to ensure it is fresh and of good quality. Secondly, online purchase is not an option for large consumer goods like automobiles and furniture. People won’t purchase a car or bed just by reading its features online. Albeit, people can obtain information about it online but will definitely check how the car or bike is functioning by test driving it and verifying its features in person. To state an example, even when checking for car information online, they schedule a test drive at the car showroom. To sum it up, in my opinion, most people would still opt for traditional method of shopping compared to using internet. There would be convergence of retail outlets and online shopping and both would have their own share of consumers.