The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing.

Technology has made shopping to assume a different approach due to the rising popularity of online vendors. It is the view of some people that e-commerce will cannibalize traditional stores in cities and towns. I completely disagree. Admittedly, shopping online offers a great flexibility and convenience to customers as they can make all their purchases at the comfort of their home. This is essentially very important given the busy schedule that a lot of people have to contend with nowadays. Also, they do not have spend long hours in traffic travelling to buy basic things such as groceries or electronic devices. However, some people still consider visiting local stores to be better for many reasons. Firstly, they get to see the goods they are about to buy as it is. The pictures used to advertise online are sometimes deceitful and do not objectively portray the physical peculiarities of the product being displayed because the images are usually taken with high definition cameras. In addition, the online vendors sometimes mix up people’s orders when delivering to customers. I had a personal experience where I had a wedding to attend on a Saturday and needed to buy a pair of brown shoes to match with the other accessories I already had. I was made to pay for express delivery in order to have the shoes delivered to me before the ceremony. To my disappointment, I got a blue pair of shoes wrongly delivered to me and it was too late for me to make alternative arrangements. This would not have happened if I had visited a local store to pick up the footwear by myself. To sum up, while online shopping gives customers great ease and comfort, it is very unlikely to lead to full closure of local shops. An ideal situation would be for vendors to offer both services so that consumers can decide on what channel they want to explore at every point in time.