The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing.

With advancement in technology, online stores are gaining popularity among the masses. A growing number of people are making their purchases using these e-commerce websites rather than visiting the stores. It is widely believed that this trend shall force many retail outlets to shut down in the future. I share the same opinion as them. This essay shall cover reasons as to why we might not be seeing any shops in times to come. The fierce competition and struggle to meet ends makes it difficult to take out time to go visit a store. Also, with the rapid growth in world population the issue of congestion has surfaced which increases the duration of reaching the place and locating a parking spot. Buying stuff through the internet saves time and hustle of visiting the shop. To elaborate this point let’s take an example, if one has to select a pair of Zara Jeans, you just go to the Zara online store, scroll down, select and make the payment. It takes only five minutes and a few clicks of the mouse! Moreover, the internet is progressing each day, e-commerce companies are trying to bring all consumer needs and wants on the same place. For example, websites like Alibaba allow you to buy clothes, tyres, tools, crockery, etc everything at the same place. On the contrary, making choices in the traditional manner means you go to each and every shop and then spend some more time and energy in making choices. In conclusion, data in a number of countries show the adoption rate of this behaviour is very high. For instance, in Pakistan traffic on such websites have grown three folds in the past couple of years. I strongly agree that soon retail outlets shall not be seen anymore.