Some people say that shops should sell food products that are made in the local area whenever possible rather than foods that are imported from other countries.

In recent times, the eating preferences of people has been constantly changing. Globalization and international trade has made it possible to have access to meals from other countries. It is the belief of some people that food vendors ought to prioritize the sale of imported edibles over locally manufactured. In my opinion, due to the health and economic benefits, I completely disagree and think that they should sell locally produced food products when possible. To begin with, food stores should offer locally manufactured food items when possible because of they are healthier than imported food products. Local food items, because they are sourced from close by, are likely fresher. Also, most of items brought in from foreign countries are usually preserved with chemicals that are toxic to human health. To illustrate, my nephew who used to be a healthy lad, when he feed solely on breast milk and native meals recorded recurring case of yeast infection when his mother changed his diet to Gerber, a French made baby food. In addition, consumption of local products helps boost the economy. This is because large manufacturing companies tend to employ locals to work for them, and source their raw materials from farmers from the same region. This helps reduced unemployment as a result of the number of jobs that are created in the whole production process. For example, Nigeria was able to record a 2. 5% growth in GDP when the government started a campaign to encourage patronage of made-in-Nigeria food. In conclusion, while it might be impossible to depend completely on locally produced goods due to difference in climate which makes it impossible to grow certain food items, sale of indigenous food items should be encouraged where possible. This is will benefit the macro-economy and reduces risk of health issues related with exposure to toxic preservatives.