The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops and cities closing.

It is often argued that, whether this advent of sophisticated modern technology and their associated trends such as online shopping are having positive impacts on people's quality of life, irrespective of their economic background, or whether this trend is extremely detrimental for those who belongs to low social-economic background Personally, I strongly advocate the opposite view, In my opinion, this development has significantly reduced the profit margin of many small scale business owners. In this essay, I shall examine a number of studies to, justify the presented viewpoint. Ever since the industrial revolution, the government has provided an enormous amount of growth opportunities to people whose income falls, far beyond the poverty range. However, with the increase in popularity of online shopping among people, many small trade owners are now loosing their space in the market. This is because, unlike many online shopping websites, these small field owners are lacking to provide customers with a huge variety of products. For example, an extensive study presented by Oxford University illustrated that, many people across the globe, usually prefer shopping online because, apart from the ease, these websites are also offering a wide range of product in the lucrative price range. As these small business owners lack resources and cannot offer any exclusive deals to customers, they often end up loosing their business to those websites. In addition, this trend has tremendously affected the income margin of local farmers. Many people now buy fruits and vegetables from the online stores, owning to this, local farmers cannot find a market to sell their crops. As a result, many farmers are now suffering from the overwhelming financial loss. This is borne out by a study completed at University of Melbourne which demonstrated that, economic standards of many local farmers across has dropped dramatically. According to statistic figures, more than 75% of farming families are lying below the poverty line. Therefore, it is certainly the case that, with this growing trend of online shopping, there is no scope of growth available for local business owners. To conclude from the aforementioned arguments, I am inclined to say that, despite the many benefits these technological developments and modern trend may provide to people, it is also very essential to acknowledge the negative impacts of these trends on poor sections of the society.