The growth in the job market is demanding for exit interviews with the employees. How far do you think it is relevant?

Exit interview, in common HR terms, refers to the interview or survey which is conducted with an employee when he leaves the organisation. Modern business nature, increasing competition among companies and globalisation do require organisations to take every step possible to retain the key employees and to ensure safe, happy and healthy working environment to sustain and flourish. Happy employees mean better productivity and exit interviews conducted by the organisations helps taking necessary steps to ensure a happy and safe working environment for the employees. Exit interview, in my opinion, is a very useful method to gather data about a company’s weakness and strong areas. While leaving a company, an employee usually gives honest and frank opinion and feedback. Existing employees often conceal their dissatisfactions and does not give the whole truth when asked. Thus exit interview can help HR department of a company to detect the areas they need to bring changes. The growing job market means employees have more job options and they will always switch to the best company where satisfaction and healthy working environment is offered. Thus many other organisations will lose valuable and experienced employees only because of their lack of initiatives. Exit interviews could be the main pillar to bring out the necessary changes in an organisation. Again, an exit interview often gives the management a chance to learn the main reasons someone is leaving them. This can be an excellent opportunity to retain key employees as it opens the possibility of discussion and negotiation. For instance, many employees leave a company due to personal issues and the management can assure them about it and can request them to stay in the exit interviews. Finally, from exit interviews, a company can also learn about their strengths and can focus more on that. This can be helpful to do better in competitive business nature. In my opinion, exit interviews in this competitive job market is an essential method and an important process to make sure a satisfactory and healthy working environment for employees and thus doing better and profitable business.