Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways etc. )? Why?

The transportation system is one of the serious problems in this day which is related to traffic congestion and air pollution. A suitable decision will always think by the government to cope this issue. There are two points which the government can choose, whether they want to expense money on developing roads and highways or spend money on improving public transportation. I definitely agree for improving public transportation for some reasons. First and foremost, it is an impossible way to build roads and highways today, because the large areas are not available. For instance, in an urban area, it is hard to find a wide place because most of these places in here are used to built houses and other building. Thus, the government cannot find a space to build new roads or highways. Whereas, if the government still aspire to continue this program it seems that a new problem will create, such as traffic jam. In addition, it is wise if the government can reduce the number of private vehicles and improve the number of public transportation. There was a sharp rise of private transportation every year. However, if the government can reduce it by making a distinct rule to appeal the society to use public transportation, the traffic issue would be in a better situation. Thus, traffic jam can solve and air pollution can reduce too. In conclusion, I believe that improving public transportation is the best way to solve the transportation problem, rather than building roads and highways. When the government builds new ones, the numbers of vehicles do not decrease, but it will increase.