The government should pay to the parents of very young children, so that one of them can stay at home and look after their children. What do you think are the pros and cons of this policy? Justify your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The importance of the role parents play in the life of their children cannot be overemphasized. Some people are of the view that one of the father or mother, with the financial support of the government, should stay at home and take care of the kids. While this is an excellent idea because of the safety of the child, the disadvantages ought to be considered. Having a parent available to grow with the child has a lot of crucial advantages. Humans are generally in their most vulnerable state when they are young. Children are susceptible to all sort of sickness when growing up. For instance, my son used to be a very healthy lad until he started attending a Crèche because his mom had to resume work after her maternity leave. The crèche was unable to make special arrangement for his peculiar needs and allergies. As a result, he always had a flu or an infection every other week. In addition, children absorb a lot in their teenage years and are easily influenced by what they learn from their colleagues at school. If their parents are not available to guide them aright, they might grow up to be hoodlums and drug addicts. However, having a stay at home parent would require a lot of money to finance. Firstly, the compensation that would be paid to them has to be funded one way or another. In most cases, this would be done with tax payers’ money. Therefore, there has to be a compromise somewhere in the government’s finances because these funds could be used for other critical aspects of the economy such as education or health. Also, a huge percentage of the workforce, assuming most of them are married with kids, have to stop work. This would be leave enormous human capital gaps in most companies in the country. Additional, this lead to a drastic reduction in personal income tax revenue for the states. To conclude, although kids have a lot to benefit if one of the parents happen to be around while they are growing up, it would come at huge cost, in terms of funding and revenue lost, to the economy as a whole.