Some people think that the government should pay one of the parents of very young children to stay at home to look after their children. What do you think would be the advantages and disadvantages of this policy?

There is a school of thought that the government should compensate one of the parents to stay at home and take care of their young ones. I believe that this policy has both advantages and disadvantages. To begin with, let us talk about the requirement of infants. At a very early age, when children are growing, they learn a lot from their parents. Early ages of life are the most important for learning and parents are the best persons to provide that guidance. Children at this stage need physical and emotional caring which can only happen if the parent is present to provide it. It would not be wrong to say that toddlers are like soft sands and takes the shape they are given. Correct shape and values can only be given by parents. Moreover, for security reasons also, at least one of the parents must be there with the kids. According to a report published by the Times of India, among the child accident cases at home, 80% were of infants whose both parents were working. Now for some parents it is not possible to stop working because of financial problem. Thus, government playing a role by paying some compensation would really be advantageous. On the flip side, this policy might create a negative impact too. People might become lazy. Thus, government might send a negative message to the society. People might start spending such grants for their own luxury rather than spending it on their children. Not only that, even some people who actually have the calibre to excel in their career might stop working and it would result in the wastage of good talent. Moreover, government will have to allocate huge funds for this expenditure which could have been used in a better way elsewhere. Thus, in a way it will be an economic blow to the country. To sum up, it can be said that every coin has two sides and similarly government help in terms of money to one of the parents of young children might be both advantageous and disadvantageous.