The government should control the amount of violence in films and on television in order to decrease the violent crimes in society.

Violence in movies and television has always been a pressing issue for most countries. Some people claim that the government should regulate the amount of disturbance in films and on TV to reduce the rate of crime in society. I agree that it would undoubtedly be easier to garner support for such a move, but solely adopting such a policy will do little to effect social change. People criticize violence in cinema for various reasons. First and foremost, they think that it influences the mental state of the children. Kids try to imitate the same behaviour they see in movies and TV. For example, the heroes in films or TV receive rewards for using violence to solve a situation. Therefore, children might believe that this is the right way to solve problems related to their everyday life. As a result of that, they indulge in various problematic situations. On the other hand, there are a large number of movies and television series that contain violence, but still got much appreciated in society because they have so much substance, and offer some very important life lessons. For instance, The godfather, is considered as the one of the greatest movies of all time. Although, The movie is an entertaining gangster saga, but it is also a story about power, family, and capitalism. It has so much substance, and it offers some very important life lessons. In conclusion, showing violence in movies and on television is not completely responsible for crime in society. So, I believe that the government should take other measures such as gun and drug control laws to regulate and monitor violent contents in television and movies to reduce the crime rates.