The government pays university tuition for students (which means students do not have to pay). Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

In many countries, university students usually receive financial support for their tuition fees from the governments. While this trend has some benefits, I would argue that it has more drawbacks. On the one hand, the considerable investments of the government in free higher education can be beneficial in some ways. Firstly, students’ financial burden may reduce as they do not have to pay their university tuition. Therefore, they can save money to spend on other living expenses such as accommodation, foods, and transportation. If students have to take responsibility for their cost of education, they would need to find a job to earn money. This may have negative effects on their studies. Secondly, since free education may attract the enormous number of students, they find it easier to access tertiary education which provides them with necessary skills, knowledge and academic qualifications. Therefore, students can walk into a job, which contributes to reducing crime rate and poverty. On the other hand, I believe that the potential drawbacks of free education are more significant. Primarily, substantial investments from the government in free education can lead to an acute shortage of nation’s coffer to pour into other crucial factors such as transportation, environment and healthcare services. In addition, due to the provision of free higher education from the governments, students may strongly rely on these benefits. This causes their laziness and a lack of motivation to study. If students have to pay their tuition fee, they would value the education more. In conclusion, studying university free of charge can have several advantages, I am in a favor of the idea that disadvantages are greater.