In some countries, students pay their college or university fees, while in some others, the government pay for them. Do you think the advantages that government pays the money outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that in some countries, rather than students, governments shoulder the responsibility of paying tuition fees to colleges or universities. This essay will compare the strengths and weakness of this phenomenon, and argue that it is more beneficial. There is no doubt that governments affording education fees could benefit both individuals and nations. First of all, such action is beneficial to individual development. This is because without the need to worry about the tuition, students are able to put more focus on their study, which will help them develop to the capable and active person in the future. Moreover, social stability and social cohesion will be effectively enhanced as those poor students can acquire same education opportunities as the rich, thereby narrowing the gap between two social classes and creating a harmonious society. Furthermore, through allocating public funds to the education sector, a country’s national quality will be tremendously improved. For example, it is the educational expenses paid by the united government that create a such high-qualified and intelligence population in America. Nevertheless, the negative impact of bearing the tuitions by local authorities also cannot be underestimated. To begin with, it will impose a threat to economic growth. Because there are no enough public funds to be allocated to the areas that directly stimulate the economy like manufacture sector, the speed of economic development will be slowed down and impaired. Additionally, compared with affording the cost by themselves, students who are waived from this duty may not cherish the study opportunities, which lead to the waste of educational resources. In conclusion, although some disadvantages are associated with the action that governments paying the high education fees, I am in support of the idea that, it brings more advantages to both individuals and the whole nation.