The government and individuals are spending too much money on national celebrations like new year or festivals.

Increased wealth has allowed both the government and individuals to spend more on special occasions than before, especially when it comes to national celebrations. However, this does not mean that modern people are leading an extravagant lifestyle, as will now be discussed. On the societal level, public spending on special events should not be considered a waste of financial resources. One reason is that national celebrations act as a catalyst for the growth of the tourism industry, attracting more foreign tourists to pay a visit to the country. The economy may reap the benefits from the investment of the government in festivals and New Year celebrations, courtesy of job creation and income generation from the growing demand for food, accommodation and transport. Another justification is that social events pay dividends because they can increase social cohesion. People of different classes may together, enjoy the joyful atmosphere, make friends and leave their hardships behind, which contributes to social well-being. It is also ludicrous to blame individuals for their spending on special occasions. Primarily, the money we earn from work should be used to not only cover the cost of living but also enjoy life. Recreational events are great chances for us to escape the tedium of mundane tasks at the workplace, and a sum of money spent on a party, for example, can help us achieve this. In addition, people should not live a frugal life/existence for the rest of their lives. The New Year holiday is a great chance for them to spend part of their savings on food, decorations and clothing, so they have a happy time to tighten the bond with other family members. In conclusion, judging a sum that is/ought to be allocated for special events is very subjective. Therefore, I personally disagree that we are overspending the national budget and individual savings on national celebrations.