The first car appeared on the British roads in 1888. By the year 2000, there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads.

In the recent years, there has been a vast increase in the number of people using cars as a mean of transportation. Studies reveal that the first car was found on British Road in 1888, after which the number of cars rose dramatically to approximately 29 million over the course of 112 years. The argument of whether or not car ownership should be limited and alternative forms of transport should be brought about have sparked a heated debate. With the invention of cars, human's lives have irrefutably been made easier. It is inarguable that cars have forever altered the world of transportation. However, I believe that while there are many advantages of cars, they do not come without a number of drawbacks. One that is evident in all parts of the world is the traffic congestion in regards to the overwhelming number of cars. It is also undeniable that cars have contributed not little to the pollution of air owing to the gas that they emit. As such, bicycles will serve as a great alternative to cars, as they do not cost much and also cause less pollution. Thus, I contend that the usage of bicycles should be encouraged. Cities that have many rivers and lakes can easily introduce boats for public transportation. Again, public buses, trams, and rails could be some good alternatives as they can carry a large number of people at a time and thus can potentially decrease the traffic jam, pollution and fuel crisis. In conclusion, I believe that government ought to limit the ownership of cars in a bid to lessen the air pollution and solve traffic congestion problems and encourage more people to travel by bicycles in their place.