The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. What are your views?

With the introduction of the first car by Ford, at the turn of the 19th century, the world has entered a new era in the field of transportation. Vehicles shortly became the most common form of transportation, replacing horses and carages, and all the metropolitan cities quickly began to pave roads for all the new cars that arrived. Nearly a century later, millions of cars are sold daily worldwide, and the environmental consequences are easily seen. Increased pollution, dirt and traffic are increasing rapidly, and it is easily understandable that a new way of transportation should be engourages in order to control car ownership and use. Several ways to control vehicle use have been implemented in the past decade, all directed at minimizing the amount of car usage. Initially, car insurance and gasoline price can be substantially raised, which lead to a situation where it is cheaper to use public transportation, such as a train or a bus, rather then private cars. This has been tried successfully in New York city, and have lead to a 5% decrease in the amount of cars used in the city center. Second, legislating a law that prohibits cars from entering the city, similar to the law implemented in Amsterdam, force people to use other means of transportation. Furthermore, promoting through various financial means carpool programs may also decrease the amount of vehicles on the road. In my opinion, there is a need for drastic change in the way we use transportation. I believe cars not should be allowed in major city centers, and that public trasnportation should be the only way people can go from one place to another. By completely preventing enterance of cars and, at the same time, promoting the use of environmetally friendly transportation, such as electircal trains, we can maintain a pollution free city and a clean city. In conclusion, in my opinion, Car use should be strongly discouraged and public transportation should be the main way of transportation in our city. In that way we will be able to save our planet and our family.