The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

Cars are one of the oldest and easiest way people travel around in the world. As the population has increased, the number of cars on road have also seen a steep growth. I reckon that, the harm caused by the ever-increasing vehicles on the road would see a difference if people switch over to various methods of travelling, which could be enforced by international laws on car ownership. On the one hand, pollution caused by the vehicles has increased at an alarming rate. A plethora of people prefer to use their personal conveyance, even though, availability of public transport is available to them, which has resulted in egregious air quality levels. However, putting up laws on the ownership of the cars could help the governments of the countries who face these problems. For instance, the government of Delhi, India introduced an odd and even law which allowed cars registered by odd number be driven on odd days of the month and even registration numbers on even days. On the other hand, the public transports are not reliable and, in some cases, extremely costly. An average person has to pay a lot of money to travel around. Moreover, there can be some instance where the public transports have faced issues which can cost a daily worker. A car can be a very useful device in these cases and would also allow a person to drive where ever they want, which would not be possible with public transport. In conclusion, cars have been used as the major means of transportation and it would only increase in the future however if public transport and car ownership laws are put up appropriately, it would decrease the rate of multiplication of cars and help the environment.