The first car appeared on the British roads in 1888. By the year 2000, there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. Give your own opinion on the issue. Use your own experience or an example to support your idea.

The trend of owning personal cars is becoming increasingly popular. In the UK, the first car was seen in 1888 and the figure rose to 29 million in 2000. I completely agree that there must be encouragement of other means of travelling along-with some restriction of owning car and its use by international laws. Firstly, the major reason to direct people towards public transportation is air pollution. In order to save the ozone layer, which is protecting us against the dangerous and life-threatening rays of the sun, actions must be taken. Nowadays there are certain environmental campaigns warning us about the possible disaster of air pollution meanwhile spreading awareness among masses to educate them. For instant, ten persons using a public bus rather than individual cars can make a big difference. Secondly, another reason is a rather less addressed topic of status. If a man had a car, then he would be considered rich, educated and someone with good family background. How did this thought process begin in our societies? One easy solution to this problem is everyone using public vehicles as a means of transportation so that all members of a certain society feel equal. Lastly, certain laws must be imposed throughout the world to limit the easy accessibility of cars to everyone. For example, In Nigeria, only one car is allowed to be owned by one family. Furthermore, in Albania, the public transport is freely accessible to everyone living in that state so people are more drawn towards it. Amsterdam even got another name as 'a city of cycles' due to the introduction of cycling and persistence of this means of travelling. It was introduced by a simple 'rent a bike' service, later becoming the most famous in the whole world. To conclude that, I believe that different modes of transportation should be encouraged because of the risk of air pollution and status difference. Moreover, car ownership and its use should be limited legally in the world by making easy-to-follow laws.