The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

In 1886, the first modern car was invented by Karl Benz and the first car appeared on British roads in 1888. Cars became widely available in the 20th century. By the year 2000, there were may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Public transport should be encouraged and international laws introduce to control the amount of car ownership and use. I totally agree with this suggestion because too many cars on roads can cause pollution, increment of accident as while as a waste of resources. The usage of car is one of the core reasons of pollution. Cars can exhaust pollutant gas such as carbon dioxide, sulphide, and nitrogen. All these gases can pollute our air and affect our environment by causing global warming, ozone depletion as while as acid rainfalls. For example, New Delhi, one of the cities that has the most cars in the world, the air condition there is chronically worst. Every breaths that the people breath in every minute equal to two packs of cigarette. According to a scientific research, due to overused of cars, our temperature has increased from 27 degrees to 33 degrees in 20 years time. The melting of ice shelves, desertion and climate change are indirectly caused by the overused of cars. The ownership and use of car should be controlled to protect our motherland from being polluted. Besides that, the amount of traffic accident has shown great increment since cars gain fame. There are too many cars on the road right now and this situation has caused heavy traffic jams especially during peak hour. All drivers drive fiercely to be able to reach their destination on time. It is a usual phenomenon to see drivers speeding and ran a red light. Furthermore, drivers get frustrated easily due to hectic heavy jams and they may not make the right judgment while driving. All these issues are causing the increment of traffic accidents nowadays. So, public transports should be encouraged and international laws should be introduced to restrict car ownership and usage to ensure the safety of all road users. Moreover, cars nowadays are bought due to satisfied desire and this cause waste of resources. To product a car, we need materials such as metal, iron and rubber. Most of these are not renewable resources. Cars also need to pump petrol or diesel to be able to generate. We should cherish all these precious resources for other meaningful usages. In the other hand, car's tyres need to be changed every year. Imagine, a car need to change 4 tyres a year. There are millions of cars around the world. We create so many not recycled tyres every year and all these are thrown into our ocean. The government must limit the purchase and usage of car and promote public transport. In conclusion, the invention of car has brought a lot of convenience to our life. There are costs and benefits of car use. Overloaded amount of vehicles has become a headache to British's society. Government should take some relevant actions to promote public transportation and implement laws to control automobile ownership and use.