The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

With the industrial revelution 100 years ago, a new methods of trasnportation immerged, among those is the automobile, since then, hundreds of millions of cars entered the roads. This trend had a negative impact on the helath of the communities around the world, thus forcing the authorities to decrease the numbers of car owners and provide people with alternative ways for transportation. I believe such measures would improve the life quality of people and help the environment. Turning firstly to the downsides of the cars, motor vehicles are one of the major causes of global warming and climate change, which might have a catastrophic imapcts on our planet and our way of life. For example, a recent study by the University of London has found that cars emit 25% of green house gases, hence raising the planet temprature by 0. 75 degrees. Therefore, automobiles have a longterm harmful impact. Moving on to solutions for this issue, on of the most successful measures is making car ownership more expensive, which will make people use public transportation more frequently, therefore, less cars on the road. Nevertheless, to adopt such solution, an effective alternatives should be available. For instance, When Singapore had increased the taxes on the cars by the double, it resulted in 20% less traffic on the roads, plus a significant improvement in air quality was noticed around the city. The tax raise was combined with new train and metro lines and an increase of number of buses around the city, hence, more options for car owners. In conclusion, I strongly believe that governments and international agencies should enforce new laws to take cars put of the roads, while at the same time give people motivations to use other methods of transportation. This would have a positive effects on the communities, environment, and life quality overall.