The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

From its first appearance in 1888, in Britain, cars have become a vital mean of transportation in our day to day lives. Until the year 2000, there could be as many as 29 million cars on the roads of Britain, so the people are being encouraged to use alternative forms of transportation to control car usage. I somewhat disagree with this statement, because, although the rate of car use is expanding, introducing international laws to limit the ownership of vehicles is not the answer. The reason people enjoy having their own cars is that it gives them an independence on the roads. In other words, owning a vehicle gives you an advantage to travel wherever you want, without waiting for busses or trains. Establishing a law that suspends the Brits from this freedom would be considered a violation of human rights. In Beijing, for example, in the year 1998, there was a riot against the government, because the new penalties against owning a vehicle were regarded as contravention. On the other hand, the British authority should encourage its citizens to use public transportation. If the busses, trains, and tubes would become free of charge, there is a chance those people will get attracted to them. Consequently, this will decline the rate of vehicle possession in the UK. In Tokyo, the Japanese government made all public means of transportation free for all social groups, and it is currently the city with the lowest rate of car usage. As a conclusion, although Britain can take some measurements to prevent this problem from growing, introducing new rules will only make things worse. Instead, they should encourage people to use other form of vehicles, such as busses, trains, etc.